Online Security Blog 5

On line security, has been in the news for a long time due to all the security breaches that been going on with celebrities and companies. This issues is something that particularly interests me due to the fact I am studying networking and security at school and find it interesting. It first caught my attention when I had to fix my parents computer and noticed it had lots of viruses. I proceeded to do multiple scans of the computer system and updates of the OS and I kept doing so until the computer was virus free. This took me all day and thought to myself if business would do the same thing to their computers because most people don’t know that much about computers.

On line security, has been in the news for a long time due to all the security breaches that been going on with celebrities and companies. This issues is something that particularly interests me due to the fact I am studying networking and security at school and find it interesting. It first caught my attention when I had to fix my parents computer and noticed it had lots of viruses. I proceeded to do multiple scans of the computer system and updates of the OS and I kept doing so until the computer was virus free. This took me all day and thought to myself if business would do the same thing to their computers because most people don’t know that much about computers. I also started watching the show called “The IT Crowd” and found it amusing how the people in the IT department feel when dealing with the computers in a business. A running joke that they had was constantly telling people if they tried turning it off and on again, they even started to answer the phones with that. Its easy to take advantage of someone when they don’t know that much about something and yet they continue to use it daily. The smart thing to do is to take some computer classes or at least take basic computer security courses that would go over the basics to keep people safe on line and in their real life’s. I think that because people use computers mainly for entertainment they feel like its more of a toy rather than a tool that can perform sensitive banking transactions if they wanted to. It certainly caught my attention when I heard that hackers could stop the movie premiere of a major studio production. This event made things a whole lot more real for me due to the manipulation of people with lots of money and power. This event also set up a president that people can be manipulated to assert other peoples will just from the comfort of their home. Criminals in general are always looking for the quick buck and know that they set a president that someone with a computer can get a large amount of money just by holding something ransom is going to open the floodgates to some nasty people. I hope that people learn to protect themselves in this new world of ours where you dont need to be big and strong to rob someone anymore.

Leave a Reply

