Google sees you (14)

google doodle.jpg.653x0_q80_crop-smart.jpg

It seems as if there is a world of emerging technologies that bring with them much innovation, use, and room for ethical problems. As amazing as these technologies are, they raise much concern. Technologies like AI, for example, are in discussion. Since there is still room for development, much concern is hypothetical.  Something like Google Maps that already exists draws some controversy. I remember when I was first able to see my house from Google Maps. I was a little disturbed, but I also figured that I wasn’t that important where anyone would care to google my address in hopes that there would be a blurred out picture of me.

In this article, ‘Real-time satellite surveillance video’  takes this Google Maps on a whole other level. Instead of having images on Google Maps that are 1-3 years old, it would instead have real video capability. This is possible by two companies that Google Acquired. The article talks about two companies launching satellites into space that capture very close to the real-time footage. Such companies would be able to sell their videos to companies, the government, or wealthy clients.

I can only imagine how a person worth stalking would be very paranoid. Even though I don’t think I’m worth being crept up on by some wealthy customer to these companies, I still am concerned about the use of this data. I can see the good it can bring in reducing crime, and these days, terrorist attacks. I can also, however, see this data misused by a mal-intended government. If a wealthy nation gets their hands on this data and applied military strategy intelligence to the multimedia data, they would have a huge advantage over them.

I would also be concerned that mal-intended people would get their hands on this data. There has been a lot of awareness of human trafficking lately, so I can’t help but think of an awful use case. If a dollar amount is all one needs to have access to the data, I don’t trust that enough screening would happen. A serious clearance check needs to happen before anyone gets their hands on this data to avoid people like human traffic organizers use this.

As much as it could lessen crime, it can easily heighten it too, especially if these satellites are becoming easier to build, launch, and maintain. The more people that can not even buy the data, but even put their rocket into space, the easier it will be to facilitate crime. Even though I don’t think I would be a victim of something like this (but maybe I’m being naive), I still do not like the idea of firstly selling the data to anyone without a serious clearance, and secondly, I don’t think anyone can just launch a satellite into space to record people without their concent.

http://reilly.nd.edu/outreach/emerging-ethical-dilemmas-and-policy-issues-in-science-and-technology-2015/real-time-satellite-surveillance-video/

7 thoughts on “Google sees you (14)

  1. This information is very scary indeed. I hope that there is some sort of regulation in store for this type of technology as I can certainly see this being used nefariously if left to the highest bidder. Thankfully the initial cost would be preventative to potential abuse.

    Like

  2. Hello Anita,

    Wow! This would totally open new ways for other countries to track us. I think this shouldn’t be allowed, or allowed only if it somehow doesn’t capture or blurs out humans. It it hard to think of regulations for this idea but the thing that calms me if the cost.

    Like

    1. It frightens me a little too. Especially knowing that it could be used for military purposes. I hope that it doesn’t come to this point, but only time will tell!

      Like

  3. Hi Anita, this idea is definitely scary since it could mean that anyone who knows your address can literally watch your house 24/7. I can see this being very harmful because it can allow stalkers or burglars to watch someone’s house long enough to know their routine, and then use that info to commit crimes. I guess it can also be used for safety reasons, but that’s why a lot of us have house alarms or outside cameras right?

    Like

  4. I find it disturbing that this technology is out there and up for grabs. This technology is the kind of stuff that makes me want to step away from screens for awhile.

    Like

  5. On the one hand, the idea that entire neighborhoods could be under surveillance at once by one person is a terrifying thought – I don’t like the idea of someone with ill intentions watching my house, knowing when I leave and when I return. But at the same time – that’s already happened to me, even without technology to help. My house was burgled back when I was in high school – during the day, when whoever burgled it would have been able to tell, with some surveillance, that no one was home. It’s a scary thought, being watched, but disallowing the technology won’t deter criminals from doing what they can to hurt people.

    Like

  6. Hello Anita,

    This blog is a great example of a reflection of the issues that I presented for Windows 10 and Microsoft, but concerned with another company: Google. I’ve been wanting to do some research on this topic for some time and I think this inspired me to push through and finally do that. I liked that you brought up the concern that mal-intended people would get their hands on the data. I know people put a lot of faith in Google and I know they have very sophisticated defense systems. However, every system has it’s flaws. Great post! Keep up the good work.

    Cody Patterson

    Like

Leave a Reply

