(14) Ted

In the first video, “Zeynep Tufekci: Online social change: easy to organize, hard to win”, I found it interesting that the way that people would react to an image. I was reading the description that the video had and it was interesting to know that people tended to react a certain way. Ways that people would even call face rage. Most of the time, it is easy to just have a hand-held device, log into your profile and express your opinions. But I must agree that the “fake rage” only goes so far. I wanted to point out about the type of action that people did finally decide to march for: Earth Day, Women’s March, etc. Some of the concerns that I had about this type of expression, is well explained by the Zeynep Tufekci. She explains how people tend to inspire a lot of outrage, but not the same of action that people would have wanted to see. Fun fact, referring to how most of the “trending” items in media platforms, are created by robots and not people. The reason that this is a concern, is that people would have the impression that “people” have concerns for the certain subjects. From this, they would make decision that could really address other people’s lives. In the journal form, the second question addresses what should school do in this new frontier of knowledge. I am not sure if the question, is specifically to college, or a high school, I would feel that people that are going to college don’t need to address it as much as young adults. If someone feels that people are going out of hand in college, that is something that they believe. As for high school student, I would feel that they are easily influenced. I feel that the class doesn’t really address this problem in a way that they could relate to the individual.

 

In the second video, by Zeynep Tufekci, I would say that these computational data could be beneficiary. But at the same time, people really have the negative effects. The people are being judged by machine learning, specially looking at the example that she is describing. Which could be a concern for turning down great people, but are turn away by their gender and the bias judgement. It is funny to think that schools would address these type of concerns, as I would see that the information would criticized. But the algorithms are aiming for something that we want in a society. Although the output that the machine is coming up with, isn’t the information that we would want. But for a certain standpoint, it does make sense. Some of the issues that could be tackled by anyone, would be the ethics that go into machine learning. But at this point, I don’t really know how to approach this subject. But it could only go so far of making their algorithms less bias.

 

Like always, we are trying to take on algorithms to make our decision easier. But we tend to overlook some of the most pending question about applying these algorithms into real life.

4 thoughts on “(14) Ted

  1. Alan,
    As far as how moldable someone is or how someone will react, I think it has to do with maturity and has to be looked at on a case by case basis. Another factor that could influence someone is how they were raised. Ultimately, as we grow older we begin to think for ourselves.

    Like

  2. Hi Alan, I didn’t know that trending items in the media are generated by robots. Going along with the “fake rage” I can see how those trending items can be used to influence people to react certain ways about issues. Makes me feel like it’s another form of government control, since people seem to be easily enticed by the media.

    Like

  3. Hi Alan,

    I didn’t know that trends in the media are gene reared by bots, that changes a lot of things for me, such as my perspective on social media. I think it’d be interesting to look into how these bots decide on what to make trend and how to portray it. I feel that depending on how it’s portrayed, people will react differently. I wonder if that’s taken into account.

    Like

  4. Hello Alan,

    I think you bring many interesting points. I wonder how a person’s own personality gets influenced by what you called robots. I also wonder if anyone is susceptible to that influence or if it can be managed correctly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

